UK (Bournemouth University) Faculty of Health & Social Sciences students awarded for exceptional work

Final year students were recognised for their achievements at the annual Faculty of Health & Social Sciences awards ceremony on Wednesday 28th June 2023. The awards given out commended the hard work of students from the health and social science courses at Bournemouth University.

Tom Belfield, studying BSc (Hons) Physiotherapy explained what it means to be recognised for the Sue Sutherland Prize, which is awarded for overcoming adversity or challenging circumstances to become an excellent practitioner:

“I could not have asked for a better place to do my degree and feel eternally grateful for the opportunity that this university has given me. Getting through my final year was not easy, as all students come to find, but from the support of my loved ones and the University themselves, it spurred me on and supplied the fortitude that I needed to complete my degree.”

Faiza Tabassum, studying BA (Hons) Sociology had this to say about winning The Department of Social Sciences and Social Work Award:

“I am extremely grateful to receive this award from the University. I appreciate that my hard work has been recognised. Thank you to all the lecturers for your support over the years – I would not be able to achieve this award without you!”

Cara Ginnifer, studying BSc (Hons) Operating Department Practice (ODP) received The Department of Midwifery and Health Sciences Award:

“I enjoy being an ODP and I’m passionate about the course. Whilst at University, my personal circumstances meant that there were occasions that I didn’t think I would complete the course. It was such a shock to be nominated let alone to win the award. I was completely blown away! I’m proud that even when faced with adversity I’ve achieved something special whilst still being an advocate for BU and the ODP course.”

Henry Smith, studying BSc (Hons) Adult Nursing describes how it feels to win The Department of Nursing Science Award:

“I feel extremely privileged to be a winner of The Department of Nursing Science Award. To have been recognised and nominated to receive this award makes me feel extremely proud of what I have achieved over the last 3 years. As a mature student and coming from a previous full-time career, embarking on a nursing career was an enormous change for me, but the course has enabled me to enhance previous skills and develop amazing new ones. It has been challenging, particularly during the peak of the pandemic, but these challenges made me more determined to succeed. Good time management, determination and reading (lots of reading!) kept me on track! Also, my fellow students, placement assessors, course lecturers and, of course, my patients kept me motivated and I would like to thank everyone for their support.”

The awards ceremony was hosted by Executive Dean Professor Anand Pandyan, Professor John Vinney and Dr Catherine Angell.

Executive Dean Professor Anand Pandyan said: “It’s been amazing to watch all of our students learn and grow during their time at BU and being a part of the awards ceremony felt very special, as all of the students have worked extremely hard to achieve their awards.”

Full list of the winners:

The Dorset Council Award (BA Social Work): Lauren Madden

The Dorset Council Award (MA Social Work): Kathy Brennan

The Rodger White Prize – BA (Hons) Social Work: Jasmine Thomson

The Rodger White Prize – MA Social Work: Gemma Earley

The Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust Award: Lindsay Warken

University Hospitals Dorset Outstanding Student Nurse Award: Zoe Godber-Ford

The Sarah Cheesman Compassionate Care Prize: Katie Butler

Prudence Donaldson Wright Memorial Prize: Katherine Jones

SWASFT: Alexander Hunter

Sue Sutherland Prize: Thomas Belfield

Lesley Milne Midwifery Prize: Alicia Pressley

Phi Mu Chapter (Honour Society for Nurses) joint award: Laura Lock

Phi Mu Chapter (Honour Society for Nurses) joint award: Niasha Lynch

SUBU Award: Sherrie Hale and Sam Pattison

Dean’s Prize: Jessica Clarke and Emily Fisher

The Department of Medical Science and Public Health Award: Musa Nhlabatsi

The Department of Midwifery and Health Sciences Award: Cara Ginnifer and Jo Costello

The Department of Nursing Science Award: Henry Smith

The Department of Rehabilitation and Sport Sciences Award: Lizzie Rhodes

The Department of Social Sciences and Social Work Award: Faiza Tabassum

Lewis Manning Scholarships in Palliative and End of Life Care – funded by the Burdett Trust for Nursing: Tyler Trifari, Maria-Gorati Okeke, Grace Lawrence, Katie Butler and Millie Gray

Anneyce Knight Enhancing Nursing Practice Award: Cheryl Clarke

The Colin Pritchard Award for Outstanding Commitment to Becoming a Social Worker: Ellie Campbell

Mandy O’Shea Award for Excellence in Family and Carer Involvement: Ropafadzo Chimbase, Philippa Falkner-Lee and Georgina Novell

The HSS Long Placement Prize: Lizzie Rhodes