Australia (University of Newcastle Australia) 2022 HMRI Researchers of the Year announced

Announced last night at NEX in Newcastle in front of a 300-strong crowd of friends, families, HMRI staff and supporters, Professor Nixon was recognised for his research which focuses on genetic and environmental factors that impact sperm quality.  He is a member of the HMRI Pregnancy and Reproduction team.

With $90,000 in prize money on offer, the Researcher of the Year Awards honour the best overall researcher, mid-career researcher, early career researcher and research team.

The Mid-Career Researcher of the Year is Professor Pradeep Tanwar from the Cancer research program. Pradeep specialises in gynaecological research and is the Director of the University of Newcastle’s Global Centre for Gynaecological Diseases.

The Early Career Researcher of the Year is Dr Michelle Kennedy from the Equity and Health and Wellbeing research program. Dr Kennedy created a smoking cessation program called Sista Quit for pregnant Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women.

The Research Team Excellence Award was presented to the Physically Active Children in Education team (PACE), headed up by Dr Nicole Nathan. This program aims to improve the delivery of physical activity by teachers in primary schools.

HMRI Director, Professor Frances Kay-Lambkin, said the researchers recognised this year were doing globally relevant work that was having a direct translational impact on the health of people everywhere.

“This recognition and the award funding gives our researchers the ability to push further, faster in their chosen fields. Huge congratulations to them and sincere thanks to the donors who make these awards possible, Professor Kay-Lambkin said.

Professor Pradeep Tanwar

Dr Michelle Kennedy

HMRI Award for Research Excellence ($20,000) 

Finalists: Professor Geoff Isbister and Professor Brett Nixon

Winner: Professor Brett Nixon

Director’s Award for Mid-Career Research ($20,000) 

Finalists: Associate Professor Matt Dun, Associate Professor Jay Horvat and Professor Pradeep Tanwar

Winner: Professor Pradeep Tanwar

HMRI Award for Early Career Research ($20,000)

Finalists: Dr Michelle Kennedy and Dr Rachel Sutherland

Winner: Dr Michelle Kennedy

HMRI Foundation Research Team Excellence Award ($30,000)

Finalists: No Money No Time Team (led by Laureate Professor Clare Collins), and Physically Active Children in Education (PACE) Team (led by Dr Nicole Nathan)

Winner: Physically Active Children in Education (PACE) Team (led by Dr Nicole Nathan)

Dr Nicole Nathan and PACE teamHMRI is a partnership between the University of Newcastle, Hunter New England Health and the community.