UK (City University of London) City welcomes new cohort of British Council Women in STEM scholars

The new cohort of scholars attended a networking event on 6th December 2022, with the 2021/22 scholars – some of whom have already completed their master’s programmes or are finalising their dissertations following an industry internship. Dr Tatyana Micic, Associate Dean for Postgraduate Education, welcomed the scholars and welcomed them to the event. In her remarks, she said:

For the third year running, we are delighted to continue our partnership with the British Council in promoting STEM and supporting Women in STEM. We received a large number of applications for these generous scholarships which include full tuition fees and a monthly bursary. Scholars were selected through a rigorous selection. From our previous cohort it has become evident that their time at City has been transformational in their professional lives and for their personal growth.


Dr Micic also thanked City’s International Office for its support during the application and selection process. She confirmed that the School’s bid for the 2023/24 round of funding from the British Council was successful leading to applications from another round of Women in STEM scholarships early in the new year.

Over the past three years, City has are invested close to £500k into the Women in STEM programme.

SST Executive Dean, Professor Rajkumar Roy, also welcomed the scholars and encouraged them to seize the opportunity that scholarships offer to develop academically and take advantage of City’s employability opportunities to transform their future careers.

Others attending the event were 2021/22 scholars Annu Mary Zacharias, Madhu Raut, Poorvika Negi and Samya Rahman, Programme Directors, Dr Tala El Samad, Dr Veselin Rakocevic, SST Associate Dean for International Partnerships, Dr Peter Popov, Ms Laura Sutherland from City’s International Office, Ms Lucy Piechnik, Ms Savita Afonso and Ms Erica Ross from the Programme Office.

City’s new Women in STEM scholars 2022/23 received their undergraduate degrees from Anna University, NED University of Engineering and Technology, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Dehradun, University of Moratuwa and Lahore College for Women University.