Nigeria (Covenant University) NUC Programme Accreditation: Teams Commend Covenant Quality Standard

As part of the 5-year cycle of accreditation of programmes in Nigerian universities, two sets of accreditors from the National Universities Commission (NUC) are at Covenant University for the accreditation of the Computer Science programme and Civil Engineering.

The leader of the team on an accreditation visit to the Department of Computer Science, Professor Adio Taofiki Akinwale, speaking on behalf of both teams during a courtesy visit to the University Management, said they were on a peer review exercise to see how the departments in focus have adhered to and complied with the Benchmark Minimum Academic Standard as stipulated by the NUC.

Professor Akinwale said Covenant is known for excellence, not just within Nigeria but also on the continent; as a result, an institution with such renowned status is expected to adopt best practices in its academic procedures. “We are here to ascertain and confirm that there is no deviation from NUC’s stipulated standards,” he added.

In response, Vice-Chancellor Professor Abiodun H. Adebayo stated that an exercise of this magnitude is intended to improve our academic system, and thus the university’s readiness is not taken for granted.

Professor Adebayo notes that the profiles of the members of the team show they will be value adding in their objective assignment of Covenant. “We look forward to this accreditation exercise as another opportunity to learn, unlearn, and relearn what is considered best practice in the mission to reposition tertiary education in Nigeria,” he said.

Professor Adebayo appreciated the crucial role of the NUC in championing quality and excellence in the nation’s educational landscape and commended the leadership of the Commission for the feats attained in the last 60 years, noting that universities in the country and the NUC are partners in progress.

Also present during the courtesy visit were the Acting Registrar, Mrs. Regina Tobi-David; Director, Financial Services, Pastor Olugbenga Kiki; Dean, College of Science and Technology, Professor Timothy Anake; Dean, College of Engineering, Professor David Olukanni; Director, Centre for Learning Resources, Dr. Mercy Iroaganchi; Director, Academic Planning Unit, Professor Philips Aizebokhai; Head, Department of Civil Engineering, Professor Anthony Ede; and Head, Department of Computer Science, Professor Olufunke Oladipupo.